top of page

Hamfest was great, highlights to come.

Hi everyone,


I think I speak for everyone when I say that the Hamfest was a good experience for all. There were many seminars and the swapmeet went longer than anticipated. On the radio last night, Greg Mcarther, Gregary Hendricks, Steve Merrill, Bill Wade and myself all had a discussion, and thought it would be prudent to share what we learned. I emailed one ham about the go kit lecture, and will post it when I get back. I also attended the Winlink presentation. I had seen it once before at an ARES meeting, but here it is again. One of the reasons that Winlink resonates with me personally is because I have people in my family who are not operators and it would be nice to be able to communicate with them directly in times of disaster. Winlink helps to make this possible. Although I had attended the lecture before, this time I got the individuals email address so that I can ask questions if I get stuck. There was also a lecture on CW academy, which our very own Dave Saunders is involved in. They also had a QRM lecture. It should be noted that at the very end Mel Parkes said that Utah Valley University was in the process of preparing for another one next year! Typically our Utah Hamfests are four years apart so this was exciting news.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Neighborhood Rapid Disaster Plan Updated

So, you really liked Steve's lecture? Great, cause we're not done yet! Attached are lanyards, posters, and the like that you can share with your organizations to help spread the word if you so choose,

Rapid Disaster Presentation

Hi, Steve's Presentation was excellent. If you missed it, or want to see it again, here it is for your viewing pleasure.

Ham Radio University files

Hi Everyone, HRU had excellent presentations, check them out! On Raspberry Pi, Safety, Antennas, Satellite Communication, and more.

bottom of page